Blondies

This afternoon, I decided to do some baking! I saw on Chef at Home, Michael smith whipping up a batch of blondies with whole wheat flour- I knew I had to make some.

Here’s the original recipe from Food Network Canada:

Ingredients
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup pine nuts
  • 1 cup caramel chips
Directions
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Lightly oil an 8×8-inch baking pan.
  2. Melt the butter in a small saucepan. Continue heating, swirling gently as it begins to foam and steam, releasing moisture. Continue swirling as the milky bits begin to brown forming a golden residue under the butter fat. When they are rich golden brown, pour it into a heatproof mixing bowl. Add the brown sugar, eggs and vanilla and blend well.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to the wet and stir the batter until smooth. Stir in the nuts and candy bits and pour into the prepared baking pan. Bake 45 minutes. Cool for a few minutes before cutting into squares.

But for me, I changed the caramel chips to white and regular choc chips – I can’t find any caramel chips here. And instead of pine nuts, I used cashews which I had. I’m not sure if that change had made it a tad too hard or whether 45 mins is too long in a fan-forced oven. Any who, it turned out like so:

SDC10152

It was abit too brown. I guess I should’ve taken that as a sign. But the recipe said 45 mins..

SDC10153

I like it though. But I’m not sure if the rest of the fam will like it as much as the flourless chocolate cake.

Dinner’s ready, but the BF is on his way back, so I shall be patient…

No, I stole a couple of bites already, but merely enough to make me full!

SDC10154

Brocs and carrots. I think I made it a bit too hard for the gramps! sorry!

SDC10155

Grandma cooked some “Meen See” fish. It’s taucu paste. It’s my fav! And the BF better come back soon before this disappears!

Leave a Reply

