Plum Chicken & Mushroom Broccoli

I’m so proud of myself because of the title! It meant that I had a healthy dinner. Complicated as it may sound, it was pretty quick to prep.

Plum sauce chicken

Ingredients:

Chicken Fillet for two persons

Oyster sauce – 1 tbsp

salt & pepper to taste

Lee Kum Kee plum sauce – 1 tbsp

1 carrot stick

4 cloves of garlic

1/4 of a chilli

1. Marinate chicken with oyster sauce, salt, pepper and sesame oil.

2. When it is time to cook, steam carrots.

3. Cut garlic and some chilli4. Fry garlic & chilli till fragrant.

5. Add chicken and fry till 3/4 cooked.

6. Add in 1 tablespoon of lee kum kee plum sauce (I used two which was too sweet).

7. Add in steamed carrots.

8. Heat the sauce up thoroughly and make sure chicken is well cooked.

SDC10122

It doesn’t look pretty, but it tastes good. It’s even better when you get chicken fillets from parts like thighs but get the fat removed. It’s much more tender.

 

Mushroom Broccoli

Ingredients:

2 BIG tbsp of Mushroom Vegetarian Mix

1 head of broccoli (chopped up)

3 cloves of garlic

salt & pepper to taste

1. Steam the broccoli till 3/4 cooked.

2. Sautee garlic and a teeny bit of oil.

3. Heat through the Mushroom Vegetarian minced meat with the garlic till you can smell the fragrance from it.

SDC10126

4. Add in the steamed brocs.

5. Stir well and add salt and pepper to your liking. Try to completely dry off the broc. I didn’t and the sauce had too much water.

SDC10123

I didn’t know that the “mince meat” wasn’t salty enough, so I kinda added salt really last minute. I think if you add chicken stock granules, it would be better (that’s if you’re not completely vegetarian).

The Vegetarian Mushroom Mince Meat is supposed to be an imitation of mince meat, but tastes so much better!!! My aunt got it from an organic cafe/shop in SS2. She left me some to try, and I’m definitely getting more (though it takes a bite out of your wallet – RM 18.90).

SDC10124

Had the two dishes with some brown rice and OJ. The plum chicken is excellent with rice because it blends with the sweetness of it.

After cleaning up, I snagged half a piece of this before I went to bed.

SDC10125

Am so glad my aunts loved it!

Leave a Reply

