Flourless Hazelnut Chocolate Cake

I’m sure you are intrigued by the title. But that’ll have to wait.

Breakfast was at McDoodles today as I took gramps to make use of the voucher we had…

After my workout, I had me lunch.

I decided that my body really lacked veggies, so I had a salad of some sort. Well, it’s just cute baby carrots and cute cherry tomatoes (yes, I eat food just because they are cute Winking smile)

SDC10117

Tomatoes were dressed with a homemade dressing in a bottle consisting of guestimated amounts of wholegrain mustard, honey, sesame oil, s & p.

Carrots were eaten with Peanut Butter!! Planter’s PB which is somehow only available in Sarawak. I couldn’t help but dip my fork in it a few times after.

Also a Nestle yoghurt I bought from Tesco after breakfast (technically, I chose, grandma paid-I’m still jobless). Peach Melba.

SDC10118

Yum!! Not too sweet!

I figured the sugars in the yoghurt wasn’t sufficient as carbs, so I had a slice of toast with Lemon Tree kaya. yum…

SDC10119

Watched some tv.. that seems to be all that I’m doing. Then, I decided I should bake! I wanted to yesterday, but ran out of brown sugar. So since I had some now after the trip to Tesco, it was time to make: FLOURLESS HAZELNUT CHOCOLATE CAKE.

I got this recipe from a Australian’s Women’s Weekly Recipe collection book kinda thing from the library. But, I realised it’s on their website here.

Serving size: Serves 8
Cooking time: More than 1 hour
Flourless chocolate hazelnut cake

INGREDIENTS

1/3 cup (35g) cocoa powder
1/3 cup (80ml) hot water
150g dark eating chocolate, melted
150g butter, melted
1 1/3 cups (295g) firmly packed brown sugar
1 cup (100g) hazelnut meal
4 eggs, separated
1 tablespoon cocoa powder, extra

METHOD

  • Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced. Grease deep 20cm-round cake pan; line base and side with baking paper.
  • Blend cocoa with the water in large bowl until smooth.
  • Add chocolate, butter, sugar, hazelnut meal and egg yolks; stir until combined.
  • Beat egg whites in small bowl with electric mixer until soft peaks form; fold into chocolate mixture in two batches.
  • Pour mixture into pan; bake about 1 hour. Stand cake in pan 15 minutes before turning, top-side up, onto wire rack to cool. Dust with sifted extra cocoa.

I had no problem with everything, except for lining the cake tin with grease paper, because I’ve never done that before (how do you get the paper to stick to the sides??)

And, beating egg whites by hand because I, unfortunately, have no electric mixer (may buy one with my first pay check!)

In the website, it’s supposed to turn out like this:

(I just realised they used a round tin here as opposed to a square in the book)

Mine came out like this:

SDC10120

I cut it too soon I think. But it still tasted oh so good!!

SDC10121

I DID make a change in the recipe though. I used milk chocolate instead of dark. Not many in my family eats dark, so I want to make something everyone would eat (I can’t finish it on my own). Though I used sweeter chocolate, I didn’t reduce the sugar. It was still fine.

Taste- yum! just like a brownie. I can’t taste much hazelnut though. But, I love the moistness!! I think it’s because it’s flourless. I had a square and a half. Control, jaclyn.

I’m waiting for the BF to come home, and will start cooking dinner soon. Try this cake!

 

4 thoughts on “Flourless Hazelnut Chocolate Cake

  1. Heh heh, to get the grease paper to stick to the sides, brush some butter/oil on it then stick it to the sides of the tin ;D
    The cake looks super yummy! Will try it out soon 😀

  2. Pingback: French « Jace's tried bites

  3. Pingback: Blondies « Jace's tried bites

Leave a Reply

